Built to Last

“The same music that served evil purposes can be redeemed to serve the Good. Or it can be read in a much more ambiguous way. With music we cannot ever be sure. In so far as it externalises our inner passion music is potentially always a threat.” (Slavoj Zizek)

In Built to Last Meg Stuart works for the first time with existing classical and contemporary music. The sound recording, a historical meta-composition by music dramaturge Alain Franco, acts as a time machine. Each of the tracks, by Sergei Rachmaninoff, Ludwig van Beethoven, Iannis Xenakis and Arnold Schönberg amongst others, reflects an overwhelming sense of monumentality. Five performers travel through the history of the dance – and possibly into its future. Time and time again they enter an impressive new world, in which they themselves, through subtle variations in movement, discover a new consciousness: of the space, the situation, themselves and each other. The constant effort to stay upright reveals inherent vulnerability. The title, Built to Last, arouses suspicion. Is it possible, today, to still believe in eternal values and universality? Things are built up only to fall down again, in much the same way that we long to constantly rediscover ourselves.

Music list

Hymnen Region II - Karlheinz Stockhausen
Thalleïn - Iannis Xenakis
Symphony No. 3 “Eroica”- Ludwig van Beethoven
Lontano - György Ligeti
Vespers Op. 37 No. 1 - Sergeï Rachmaninov
Symphony No. 9 “From the New World“- Antonin Dvoràk
Sederunt Principes - Pérotin
Pierrot Lunaire: Der Kranke Mond - Arnold Schönberg
Astronaut Anthem - Meredith Monk
Symphony No. 9 - Anton Bruckner
Le Temps et l’Ecume - Gérard Grisey
Atmospheres - György Ligeti
Misa “Et ecce terrae motus“ - Antoine Brumel
Gurrelieder: Seht die Sonne - Arnold Schönberg


Choreography Meg Stuart
Created with and performed by Dragana Bulut, Davis Freeman, Anja Müller, Maria F. Scaroni, Kristof Van Boven
Dramaturgy Bart Van den Eynde, Jeroen Versteele
Music dramaturgy Alain Franco
Sound design Kassian Troyer
Scenography Doris Dziersk
Costumes Nadine Grellinger
Light Jürgen Tulzer, Frank Laubenheimer
Video Philipp Hochleichter


© Eva Würdinger
© Julian Röder
© Eva Würdinger
© Eva Würdinger
© Eva Würdinger
© Chris Van der Burght